OAuth app readiness guide ยท CRM
Getting your HubSpot app ready for real users
Checked against official docsChecked 2026-10-27hubspot.com
Verdict. A HubSpot OAuth app works the same day, then stops at 25 customer installs until your Marketplace listing is approved. New apps are built as projects with HubSpot's CLI, not just in a web form.
01
At a glance
The answer in one screenEase of creation
Moderate
CLI project setup on the developer platform (2025.2+). Not tested by us.
Ease of approval
Capped until review
25 installs before Marketplace approval.
Your hands-on time
2 to 4 hours
Developer account, CLI project, config file, upload.
Waiting on the provider
Not published
Marketplace review timeline not stated on pages we read.
Do you need your own app yet?
Check Composio first.
Composio publishes a HubSpot custom-app guide; managed availability not confirmed.
Watch out: decisions you can't undo
- The 25-install cap applies to new and migrated apps. Do not migrate a busy legacy app without a listing plan.
- Required vs optional scopes shape installs. Put anything your agent can live without into optional scopes.
Agent an agent can do it You needs you Waiting on the provider
02
Prerequisites
What to have readyTo create and connect
- HubSpot developer account
- HubSpot CLI installed
- Redirect URL
For approval (can take days)
- Signed Acceptable Use Policy (Distribution tab, "Begin publishing")
- Marketplace listing content
03
App types
Which one is right for an agent product?Static token (private)
Single account auth.
- Who can install
- 1 standard account + 10 developer test accounts
- Review
- None
- Use it for
- Internal scripts
Private OAuth
distribution: private.
- Who can install
- Up to 10 allowlisted accounts
- Review
- None
- Use it for
- Pilots with named customers
Recommended for agents
Marketplace OAuth
distribution: marketplace.
- Who can install
- 25 accounts before listing; unlimited after
- Review
- Marketplace listing review
- Use it for
- Agent products with customers
Conflicting limit for private OAuthThe Manage apps page says 10 allowlisted accounts. The changelog says 10 for app partners and 100 for Solution Partners.
04
Creation steps
Who does what, and how long it takes- YouCreate a developer account15 minApps live in projects on the developer platform.
- AgentScaffold the project with the CLI45 minSet auth to OAuth, distribution to marketplace, redirectUrls and scopes in app-hsmeta.json.
- YouBegin publishing and sign the AUP10 minUntil signed, installs only work in developer test accounts.
- AgentCopy credentials into Composio5 minDevelopment, Projects, your app, Auth tab.
- WaitingMarketplace listing reviewUnknownNeeded beyond 25 installs.
05
Scopes
What each permission costs youScopes are set in app-hsmeta.json as required or optional and uploaded with hs project upload.
| Agent use case | Scopes | What it costs you |
|---|---|---|
| Read contacts | crm.objects.contacts.read | Standard |
| Write contacts | crm.objects.contacts.write | Standard |
| Deals and companies | crm.objects.deals.readcrm.objects.companies.read | Standard |
Minimal set: "CRM lookup" agent
crm.objects.contacts.readcrm.objects.companies.readMark write scopes optional.
Changing scopes later
- Edit app-hsmeta.json and run
hs project upload. - Existing installs must reauthorize for new required scopes (not verified).
06
Approval and distribution
Review, cost and renewalWhen you need it: To go beyond 25 installs. Cost: Not stated on pages we read. Renewal: Not stated.
Listing review
Not published
Check current listing requirements before planning dates.What you submit
- Listing content
- Install and usage requirements per HubSpot's listing rules
Common rejection reasons
- Not documented on pages we read
Before approval: what works and what's capped
Build and test
Developer test accounts.
Limit: Must sign the AUP to install elsewhere.
First customers
Marketplace-distribution app, unlisted.
Limit: 25 installs, excluding developer test accounts.
Scale
Approved listing.
Limit: Unlimited installs.
07
Data use and compliance
Rules that shape agent design- Acceptable Use Policy must be signed before installing outside test accounts.
08
Common blockers
Symptom, cause, fix| Symptom | Cause | Fix |
|---|---|---|
| Install fails after 25 customers | Marketplace install cap | Get the listing approved |
| Can only install in test accounts | AUP not signed | Distribution tab, Begin publishing |
09
Sources
Where every claim comes from| Claim | Source |
|---|---|
| 25-install cap before listing | Official docs |
| Review duration | Not verified |
All sources
- HubSpot changelog: install limits developers.hubspot.com
- HubSpot: Manage apps developers.hubspot.com